TLQ: Multiplicity of Maps!

I’ve been telling myself for months that I needed to prepare myself and the project by doing some documentation.  So I knew where I was at in terms of actual development.  My head needed it; it’s a riot in there normally but with all the game development floating around in there, it was sheer mayhem.  But that very fact, that my brain needed it, made me stuck.  If I didn’t organise it somewhere, I would not progress, no matter how hard I tried.

So, in my last week of being in Melbourne, I started.  But not using a project plan like I thought I would.  Instead, I used Trello.  Why?  My location and my team were the two biggest factors.  At home, I would commandeer the dining room table and spread documents all over so I could scribble on whatever page I had a thought on.  Not so when I was away from home (which, if I needed internet, forced me to be).  The other factor was my team: we have been using Trello to communicate and post up images/comments/code/etc for a while now but it was put together on-the-fly and is quite a mish-mash of everything to do with the game.

I needed a starting point.  Looking at how others used Trello for their projects via trusty Google was the first step.  I then adapted what I saw to my own situation.  What would typically be called a sprint in Agile, I called a phase, and a phase is directly linked to a whole-number version of the game prototype.  Here’s what I mean by whole number versions: version 1 contains stand-in block characters whereas version 2 contains the required 3D character models.  Here’s a handy-dandy diagram to illustrate what I mean further:

skateboard-bike-car-agile

My first board ended up being a repository of everything that would be in the game.  Everything that I plan to be in the game that is.

trello_repository
If you notice the slidebar at the bottom, you’ll see that there’s a lot of room for it to slide.  Yes, there’s really that much I added.  What do you expect from a 100+ design document.

Next step was by far the hardest – decide what the first phase/prototype was going to include.  Naturally it took me scribbling over a piece of paper to figure it out.

trello_paper

This one took me a good two hours to write until I was satisfied.  A second phase board evolved out of this, then a third, and I swapped a number of cards between the three.  Here’s the result – presenting phase 1 board:

trello_phase1

Things were finally organised.  What I only planned to be one or two more Trello Boards ended up exploding into five!

trello_multiply

My brain was resolutely relieved of its duty to remember everything and the order it was to happen in.  Such a weight off!  With that I found myself able to proceed with the physical development.  Finally, a light at the end of the tunnel!

There are 3 comments

    1. Retridemption

      I used the columns you see up in the pictures (you can click them to get a larger version to see it better). ‘Phase backlog’ column contains everything you need to do within that phase/sprint. ‘In progress’ means there’s active progress on that card. ‘Waiting For..’ is when you’re waiting on a team member, outsourced help or for another component to be ready. Then I added ‘Inside Testing’ for feedback within the team and some outside. ‘Public testing’ is for a broader testing audience (Twitter, Facebook groups, HabitRPG community, etc).

      You should also be able to see the colour coding on the cards. Each of those correspond to what type of asset they are. E.g. coding, artwork, 3D models, etc.

      Then, if you’re a team, you can attach people to cards, if you want them to be responsible for that card, so you can see who owns which (which is a big theme in Agile project methodology).

      Does that explain what you’re looking for?

      Like

  1. takingovertheworldwithgames

    Woah, that’s a lot of boards, but the result for phase 1 does look organized! I might actually give this category scheme a try – one board per major release and the naming of lists based on Agile methodology – when I start working on my game. I’ve also been using Trello for other to-do lists but the organization isn’t as sensible as this one. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

What do you think?

