TLQ: A Campaign for Backers

This campaign has been in the works for a long time.  But now it’s become more of a need than a want if I want to progress in Hunters.

I hired a character artist to create the portraits of all the characters for the game.  Yes, I did say hire.  There was no way I was going to get an artist to help with this project without paying them, especially when I’m picky about the style and quality I want.  My current financial situation, however, is not that fantastic and I’m sacrificing a lot to pay for them (I wouldn’t mind so much if I had a decent income).  This is where the Kickstarter campaign comes in.  Hoping I’ve garnered enough interest in the project, and relying on my circle of friends and supporters to help, I’m going to attempt to run one.  But it’s not as simple as just putting it up and spamming people’s social media and emails requesting their aid.  In fact, there’s a lot of work to do even before I launch it.

Kickstarter has a great source of information in order to help a project creator be successful.  Each of these steps I need to follow to give myself and this project the biggest chance.  So what do I need to do?

What I need is:

  • Create a short video (no longer than 5 minutes) that tells the story of me and this project.
  • Draw up a budget to explain what I’m going to do with the money the backers provide if the campaign is successful
  • Think up interesting and cool rewards for the backers, taking into account the extra money it will take to create/mail these objects.
  • Research and collate contact information of forums, websites, media outlets, friends, family, interested groups that could possibly turn into backers and write a press release for those I decide to contact.
  • Create a website for the game and its progress updates and add the information needed to the website

Doing the video scares me a bit.  I don’t want people to prejudice the project on me, my appearance or my gender.  But I do want to show them how passionate I am about Hunters, and how this project has gained a life of its own, that it’s no longer just mine anymore.

I’ve already started creating a website for the game and have done enough research on other game sites to know what I should include.  The other bits and pieces, I need to work more on as soon as possible.  Like I said, this campaign has become more of a need than a want.  My Himalayan trek is getting more like to be the shadows of colossi than a mountain range…..

There are 3 comments

  1. Phil N. Schipper

    Knowing the love you’ve put into this project, I know that people will take notice and be interested. The way you talk about it on your blog should hopefully translate well to your campaign. The world will engage with that!

    I also have a Kickstarter in my future, though probably quite a bit further off, so if you want to talk about this subject I’d be very happy to.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

