TLQ: Call to Arms!

So far I’ve been alone on this quest of mine (with the exception of the questgiver of course).

This has changed.  But where should I start telling you about this call to arms?  Well, I guess I could start with the physical journeying I did.

On Monday 28th July, my partner (who graciously accompanied me) and I drove around to all the universities in two of the cities I live near to put up this poster:

poster

It was a day and a half, I’ll tell you that now.  Started at 5am and finished around 9pm (we attended a Unity developer meetup at 5pm and had to drive an hour and a half home after that – read details in the previous post!).  A 380km journey all up.  We were like zombies the next day.  I’ve had two bites from the universities and from my own (so proud!).

Next, I used this poster and posted it up on Facebook and Twitter.

tweet

facebookpost

I got so many people emailing, commenting and twittering that it felt like a full time job!  Things are settling down now and I think I’m at the stage where I actually have to make a place for everyone to work in.  That’s my next job.

There are 7 comments

    1. Retridemption

      Actually, the last people to jump on board with the game were the locals. I decided to go out and try the Internet. Facebook and Twitter yielded the best results. It may be going out on a limb, but it’s a start nonetheless.

      Like

    1. Retridemption

      I think it’s more a leap of faith. Hoping these people would be as excited for the project, or wanted experience to help them. I don’t have any illusions about people leaving or not doing what they said they might do. But hopefully it’ll be an interesting project that’ll keep people interested.

      Like

    1. Retridemption

      True but a lot of people want paying first. I don’t mind accepting someone with no experience, because this is my first rodeo too when it comes to making a complete game (have done levels and bits and pieces before but not a whole, releasable product). If they’re willing to learn and willing to join me, then I have no reason to say no.

      I might be a bit idealist in that respect. I like it though.

      Like

  1. parjude

    This was the grass route way to go. Most people don’t get the jobs listed in the newspaper, or, I suspect, from LinkedIn, so your media route was appropriate, and the poster short, sweet, to the point and how to contact you. I stuck it up on Facebook here, with a “pass it on” note. You may get some contacts, even if your team is full. It’s always nice to have more contacts. Maybe even some other girl gamers

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

