What I’ve Been Watching~

I have been meaning to do this post for a while now.  The categories I made for this (anime) as well as the manga one have been glaring at me every time I write another post.  But now they can be satisfied.

First of all, what I’m watching now.

Canaan

I don’t know what I think of this anime yet.  When I watched the first episode, I thought I had accidentally started a second season without watching the first.  But that wasn’t the case.  I probably need to start from the beginning again (only 2 episodes in).  Might get a better idea the second time around.  Let you know how it goes.

 

What I’ve finished recently:

Black★Rock.Shooter.(Character).full.1680758

Black★ Rock Shooter

I’ve heard so many people raving on about this anime, so I thought I’d give it a go.  Funnily enough, even though I heard good things about it, I’d never heard what the anime was about.  Now I know why.  To tell someone what Black Rock Shooter is about, is to spoil it.  So I’m not going to give anything away.  Bwahahaha.  But what I can say is that the 3D animations are beautiful.  Why is it that I always seem to gravitate to stylised art rather than realistic?  Food for thought there.  The whole plot had me thinking then re-thinking what I knew about what was going on – somewhat of a mind trip.  Not as bad as Ergo Proxy though.  And lastly, I’m curious to know why the series is in such an irregular format.  Only 8 episodes when the norm is be 12 or 24/25.

 

Shin.Megami.Tensei-.PERSONA.4.full.1458763

Persona 4 the Animation

Oh my gorgeous Persona 4 has been made into an anime!  I was scared it wasn’t going to live up to the game, but it did.  You discover Yu, the main character, in his original personality.  I own the design works book for Persona 4 and the part about how they chose how Yu would look like, his personality suits his look.  Cool and a little naughty (check out the Kings game – I almost died laughing).  What amazed me more was how the animators included game features into the anime, such as Persona fusions and the all-out-attack screen.  So good!  There are parts of the anime that I rewatch on a regular basis to motivate me, like the first summoning of Izanagi or the battle against the Game boss.  Just talking about it fires me up.  This one went into my top five without any hesitation.

 

Kisaragi.Saya.full.1151467

Blood-C: The Last Dark

I was very hesitant about watching the series because of all the gore (very much not a fan of that stuff) but overall I liked the anime.  The ending was something I hadn’t expected.  It came as quite a shock.  But when I revisited the previous episodes, I saw all the little hints that the creators had dropped.  Silly of me to miss them.  Normally I’m vigilant about those types of things, but this time, I completely missed it.  Sneaky little sods.

However, the end of the series wasn’t the end of the story.  There is a movie to end it.  I was eager to see how it would end but it disappointed.  Ugh.  For me, the ending didn’t fit at all.  I found it unbelievable.  The series had built up the ending splendidly but the movie flopped it.

 

CODE.GEASS-.Hangyaku.no.Lelouch.full.1723233

Code Geass

Ah, one of the series that everyone seemed to have seen.  Animes like that tend to put me off, everyone talking about it all the time.  I like to wait until the hype has died down and then watch it for myself without all these opinions floating around in my head.  But I must say, it lived up to it.  I can now understand why it had caused such a fuss.  The first series – I felt was far too drawn out.  Sometimes I’d skip parts of an episode and wouldn’t miss anything vital, supporting my theory.  The second season, however, had me consume one episode after another in a ravenous feast.  And then there was the ending, to which I bawled my eyes out.  Not ashamed to admit it.  But it ended how it should.

 

Hiiro.no.Kakera.full.1155929

Hiiro no Kakera

This anime was one I was looking forward to.  There aren’t many reverse-harem animes out there, not that I’ve come across anyway.  But this one felt weird as I watched it.  There was a lot of dancing around information, such as the main female character becoming the Tamayori Princess and what the guardians really are.  But it didn’t explain any of it, not to my satisfaction.  It was 13 episodes long, but it could have easily been 24 with the right timing on information revelations and the development of the characters.  It makes me terribly sad that a concept like this, with a good grounding, never really came to fruition.

 

Inu.x.Boku.SS.full.1693358

Inu x Boku SS

Unusually, my partner joined me in watching this anime.  He’s not that into anime (he’s watched some Naruto but he’s more of a movie buff) so it was weird having him watching with me.  It turned out to be a good experience.  The anime was funny, though it wasn’t what I was expecting.  I enjoyed it immensely and it even got a few laughs out of my partner.  And the ending, when it came to light, was fantastic.  I hope there’s a manga to this one that has more to it than the anime, or if there’s a second season in the works.  Because this anime deserves one.

There are 6 comments

  1. Pangeran Wiguan

    Code Geas is epic. Master piece 10/10 for me.
    I highly recommends you to watch both season.
    Later sequel of Code Geas does not give me the “epicness” anymore though.

    As for BRS, I dropped it after 10 minutes of watching.
    Haha, I guess that’s not my cup of tea.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

