30DC Gamer List – Day 24

Favourite classic game

Civilisation II or III Gold Edition.  When I looked for a picture of the game’s box/front image, I couldn’t find the version I had.  I don’t know whether it’s because it may have been an Australian version where they often change the front image or box images to appeal to our market.  But anyway, I’m pretty sure it was the Civ 3 version.

My parents bought this game for me and my sisters when we were younger.  This game inspired my sister’s love of these types of games.  It was also game whose playable life was sooooo long.  The great thing about this version of Civilisation was the extra campaigns that had a bit of a twist to them.  There was a Martian campaign, where you had to colonise Mars with unique units; a dinosaur campaign where the units changed depending on which era you were in, and lots more.  Those were the two that stuck in my mind the most.  I’m pretty sure I still have the box and the game floating around.  Time to go exploring me thinks.

What do you think?

