Running a video game Kickstarter campaign: a backer’s perspective

Some words to be heard here. Have had a few people encourage me to do a Kickstarter on my game concepts but I don’t know much about it (with the exception that it is there and the interested public fund it). Good post to read if you’re thinking about starting a campaign of your own.

Electronical Parade

Image credit: Martin Kingsley Image credit: Martin Kingsley

I love the possibilities of crowdfunding. Every week, I load up Kickstarter and Indiegogo and browse through projects in various categories, the most exciting for me being – surprise surprise! – video games. There are projects that I’ve come across that I’ve been very impressed by; just two of these are Neverending Nightmares and Darkest Dungeon, which are titles I am very, very excited for.

However, there are also projects that don’t do a great job at selling their ideas, which often leads to having few backers and money raised. Of course, this is easier said than done as in all likelihood the game is not yet complete. But if you’re running a crowdfunding campaign (not just on Kickstarter and Indiegogo), you’ll still have to sell it! So, as a potential backer, here are the things I look for in a project when deciding whether…

View original post 315 more words

What do you think?

