30DC Gamer List – Day 3

A game that is underrated

Lux Pain

When I bought this game, I bought it purely because of the Persona-like graphics.  What I wasn’t expecting was a game that enthralled me so much I played it through two sessions.  The controls were a bit clunky and sometimes you got really lost as to what you had to do next, but the story had me sucked in.  It’s a lot like a manga in that it’s quite linear.  Some people don’t like that but I prefer it.  I like knowing where I’m supposed to be going.  Tangents are fine but as long as there is a main storyline to follow.

If you like the Persona-esque graphics and type of story, I recommend this game, if you have the patience to deal with some of the annoyances during play.

 

Image source: http://www.zerochan.net/127632

There are 6 comments

  1. Eiron

    I have no DS, so will be unable to add this to my queue. But perhaps I can look into the Persona series, as I do have a PS2. That said, I also have a Backloggery of some 5000 games, so maybe I should focus on clearing those first.

    Like

    1. Eiron

      Oh, yes. If I had to pick a game that was underrated (and is not Deadly Premonition, much as I love it), then I would go with Eversion, a simple-looking platformer that feels at first like a Mario clone, but has a lot of hidden depths.

      Like

  2. snellopy

    Star Control 2. Very long in the tooth now (must be mid 80’s) but I still have the 4 floppy disks in storage at my parents place (though of course no access to a disk drive). Excellent story telling, marvellous humour, action, goodie aliens, baddie aliens, the whole box and dice. A big fan community that even now is doing stuff. It’s the game where the name Snellopy comes from too, so it will always be close to my heart

    Like

What do you think?

