30DC Gamer List – Day 2

Minato Arisato & Yu Narukami
(Tetsuya Narumi & Shin Tetsuma)

who share the top spot as the main characters of Persona 3 and Persona 4 respectively.

 

These are the two characters who I’ve spent most of my gaming life/time with – getting to live their lives through the year you’re given.  The names in brackets are the names I gave them when I played.  I think the reason why these two are my favourite characters is because of two reasons:

1) I lived as them through their lives.  I made them the characters I thought would most the story as well as their responses and actions are my choices.  This makes these two characters and their stories uniquely mine.

2) They have separate identities when it comes to other versions of the game via different media.  For example, the new Persona 3 movies, the main character is called Makoto Yuki whereas in the manga, his name is Minato Arisato.  I haven’t read or seen these two so I can’t comment on how different these two are to my version of him.

In saying that, I can compare my version of the main character of Persona 4 to Yu Narukami from Persona 4: The Animation.  While I was content with my version, the anime version made me love this character even more.  His personality is cool but a bit devilish, which suits his look perfectly.

Next time I go through Persona 4 to do a 100% run, I’m definitely going to keep this in mind.

 

Image source: http://ark-itek.deviantart.com/art/Persona-3-and-Persona-4-Double-Persona-Summon-327929046

There is one comment

  1. Eiron

    Favourite character? That is a tough one. I have a lot of love for Francis York Morgan from Deadly Premonition, but I think he is too recent a part of my life to be my absolute favourite. Max of Sam & Max fame is wonderfully chaotic, but might be a little too two-dimensional to be a favourite. Oh, this is hard. Maybe I will have to undertake this challenge myself sometime and give it some proper thought.

    Like

What do you think?

